Home:Main Menu>News>Sightseeing-spots


赤崁樓 : Chihkan Tower (The Former Fort Provintia)

Begun in 1653, the Chihkan Tower was built by the Dutch to serve as their administrative center, and was originally known as Fort Provintia. The walls were once 453 feet around and 36 feet in height. The walls of this stronghold were made of bricks imported from Java, while the walls of buildings were made from rock-hard bricks of oyster shell lime mixed with sugar water and glutinous rice paste.

Cheng Cheng-kung (Koxinga) renamed this fort "Mansion Bestowed by Heaven" and made it his center of government after driving out the Dutch. It was abandoned at the time of Chu Yi-kui's rebellion, and soon thereafter damaged by an earthquake. The external wall and the raised terrace were the only remaining parts. The Haishen Temple and the Wenchang Pavilion on the terrace were built during the late 1800's.

Among the most extraordinary historic objects at the Chihkan Tower are the stone turtle tablets bestowed by the Cianlong (Qianlong) Emperor (1736~1796) to General Fu Kang-an. The inscriptions on the turtles commend Fu Kang-an for suppressing the Lin Shuang-wen rebellion. The inscriptions are in parallel Chinese and Manchu, which makes the turtles quite unusual among tablets in Taiwan.


No.212, Sec.2, Minzu Rd., Tainan City.

Opening hours:

 08.30am – 09.30pm
赤崁樓/洽詢電話 Tel: 06-2205647

Ticket fee:

Adults NT$ 50, Children/ Seniors NT$ 25
Tainan city resident can show resident I.D. for free entry.


 台南孔廟: Tainan Confucius Temple
       Construction on the Confucius temple in Tainan began in 1665, in the 19th year of the reign of the Yongli Emperor, during the Southern Ming Dynasty of China, by Zheng Jing, the son of Koxinga, following a suggestion by Chief Military Aide Chen Yonghua, and completed in 1666. The temple had a Guoxue (National School) on its grounds, which is reputed to have been Taiwan's first official Chinese school. It also had a Minglung Hall adjacent to the temple. The temple has been renovated several times over the past 300 years, most recently between 1987 and 1989. Some of its elements include the Stone Arch of Higher Learning and the East Ta Cheng Arch.   Today the temple serves as a popular tourist attraction and also preserves ancient Confucian ceremonies, which are conducted on a regular basis. The temple also includes storerooms for the ritual implements and musical instruments that are used in these ceremonies.


No.2, Sec.2, Zhongxi district., Kaimen rd., Tainan city,

Opening hours:

8.00 am – 5.30pm
台南孔廟/洽詢電話 Tel: 06-2289013

Tickets fee:

Adults NT$ 50, Children/ Seniors NT$ 25


: Koxinga Shrine

      Cheng Chen-Kung (1624-1662) who was known to the west as Koxinga was linked to the history of Tainan strongly. Many temples and facilities were built in An-Ping and Tainan after he expelled the Dutch in 1661. The history of the period ruled by Koxinga and his decedents can be seen in many-listed historical landmark.

Koxinga was called Kai-Tai Sheng-Wang (Taiwan Settling Holy King) and deified by some temples after his death. People worship him and his family as national hero of loyalty. Local people built Yen-Ping Chun-Wang Tzu to worship Koxinga. The imperial General of Inspection Shen Pao-Chen made a recommendation to the court that a formal shrine dedicated to Koxinga should be established after he came to Taiwan in 1874. Began in 1875, the style of the shrine was Northern Fukien and the imperial edict "Chung Chieh" Royalty and Morality" was issued. A Japanese Style pavilion was added to the shrine to function like a traditional Japanese Shinto Shrine during the Japanese occupied period. The old structure was demolished in 1961and a new Northern palatial Style was constructed in 1963.

The spatial structure of Koxinga's shrine consists the entrance portico, the main hall, and side corridors like a traditional courtyard house. There are statues of Gan Hwei and Chang Wan-Di Two generals of Koxinga, behind the entrance portico. There are spirit tablets of famous figures of the Ming Dynasty inside the side corridors.



No.152, Kaishan rd., Zhongxi district, Kaishan rd., Tainan city

Open hours:

8.30am – 9.00pm
延平郡王祠/洽詢電話 Tel: 06-2135518

Ticket Fee

全票NT$ 50元;半票NT$ 25元。
Adults NT$ 50, Children/ Seniors NT$ 25

五妃廟: Temple of the Five Concubines

      The Five Concubines Temple, dedicated to the memory of the five concubines of Ning Jing who martyred themselves for the sake of the Ming Dynasty. The combination of a temple and a tomb is the unique feature of this historic site. The main architecture of the temple includes a worship pavilion, a main hall, two chambers and a tomb. Two eunuchs who committed suicide after the death of the five concubines were buried in a small shrine by the tomb. The temple

hosts a rich collection of wall couplets by the local gentry, most of which were produced during the Japanese colonial period.


No.201, Wufei St., West Central District, Tainan City 

Open hours:

08.30am – 9.00pm
台南市政府文化局/洽詢電話 Tel: 06-2145665

Ticket fee

免費參觀 Free entry

 億載金城: Eternal Golden Fort

   This fort is made in the western style and is listed as a level 1 historical site. The outer wall is approximately 2 meters high and is surrounded by a moat. Arched gates were built with red brick and are 5 meters high. Inside the city, you can see a carpet of green grass, Shen Baozhen's commemorative bronze statue, and ancient artillery reproductions.


No.3, Anping district, Guangzhou rd., Tainan city

Opening hours:

上午0900至下午 0500
09.00am. – 05.00pm
諮詢電話:Tel: 06-2951504


Ticket Fee:

門票:全票NT$50、半票NT$ 25
Adults: NT$ 50, Children/ Seniors: NT$ 25
Tainan city resident can show resident card for free entry.

安平古堡: Anping Old Fort

   Anping Old FortIt took nearly 10 years of hard work to construct the impressive Fort Zeelandia in the town Anping of Tainan. This noteworthy fortress which was built by the Dutch during 1624–1634 in the beautiful island of Formosa which is today referred to as Taiwan is a clear reminder of colonial rule in the country. Fort Zeelandia or Anping Old Fort is positioned about 16 kilometres from the Essequibo River.
General Zheng Cheng-gong of the Chinese Ming Dynasty laid siege to Fort Zeelandia in 1661. Following a siege that took a period of nearly nine months, the Dutch who lost 1,600 lives forced to surrender Zeelandia in February 1662.  In the same year, Dutch colonial governor Frederick Coyett gave away the keys to the fortress and left to Java with the remaining civilians. With this, the 38 years of Dutch colonial rule in Taiwan came to an end.
While enjoying the spectacular views of the Suriname River, visitors can easily enjoy a walk throughout the fort and explore its unique surroundings and history. The museum is an ideal place to learn more about the original architectural styles of the fort as well as the entire nation.


No.82, Anping district, Guosheng rd., Tainan city

Opening hours

08.00am– 05.00pm
安平古堡/洽詢電話 06-2267348

Ticket fee:

門票:全票NT$ 50、半票NT$ 25
Adults: NT$50, Children, Seniors:NTS25
Tainan city resident can show resident card for free entry.

photos 2